Skip to content

Thirty-three years ago yesterday…

October 24, 2016

Thirty-three years ago yesterday, October 23, 1983, the Marine barracks in Beirut, Lebanon (an old major hotel), and that morning, the building was blown up, killing more than 240 U.S. military personnel. It was the deadliest single-day death toll for the U.S. Marine Corps since the battle of Iwo Jima in World War II. My younger Irish brother was a American Marine and there that day, he was thankfully not wounded physically, though I know he bears the mental scars still today. Such as it is with all of us that have fought in war and wars somewhere for freedom and as our country has called!

Semper Fi American Marines!

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. My little brother (54) is now an American citizen (an American Marine for just over 4 years in the 80’s) and this vote for the American president will be his first! And yes, he will vote for Trump!

    • Damn, I am almost 14 years older than me little Irish brother, and yes we had the same father and mother. Mum, just could not carry children past 7 months (we were both born premature). 1949 for me, 1962 for him. Our service overlapped back in the 80’s, me as an RMC (Royal Marine), and in the Falklands at the time (1982), and of course he went out of the US from Camp Lejeune, a US Marine (USMC, a “grunt” in the 2nd Div.)

  2. Despite my ever dwindling loyalty for and pride in my country, I will always appreciate our servicemen and those of our allies as well.

Leave a Reply

