Skip to content

From the Jersualem Connection….

December 23, 2016

One that calls for a response

George Frederick Handel’s magnificent oratorio “The Messiah” ends with the glorious “Hallelujah Chorus:”

|: Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! 😐
|: For the Lord God Omnipotent reigneth.
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! 😐

For the Lord God omnipotent reigneth.
|: Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! 😐

The kingdom of this world
Is become the kingdom of our Lord,
And of His Christ, and of His Christ;
And He shall reign for ever and ever,
For ever and ever, forever and ever,

King of kings, and Lord of lords,
: King of kings, and Lord of lords,
:And Lord of lords,
And He shall reign,
And He shall reign forever and ever,
King of kings, forever and ever,
And Lord of lords,
Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

And He shall reign forever and ever,|: King of kings! and Lord of lords! 😐
And He shall reign forever and ever,
King of kings! and Lord of lords!
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

God says: “Praise Yah! Praise, O servants of Yahweh, Praise the name of Yahweh! Blessed be the name ofYahweh from this time forth and for evermore! From the rising of the sun to it’s going down Yahweh’s name is to be praised!”…“Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a Sacrifice of Praise – the fruit of lips that confess His Name!” (Psalm 113:1-3 [from the Hebrew]; Hebrews 13:15)

The Jerusalem Connection says: The Hebrew word for “praise” is “Hallelu.” “Yah” is the shortened form of Yahweh. This is the name the Father bestowed on the Son. (Philippians 2:9-11) Jesus is Yahweh! Immanuel – God with us! Hallelu Yah!

7 Comments
  1. And whether we know it or not, this world belongs to God In Christ! With the Incarnation and the Death, Resurrection and Ascension of “Christ Jesus”, the Lordship of Christ has come, and is coming fully to be seen! The Adversary, Satan is but for a time the “god” (small g) of this world-age, 2 Cor. 4: 4.

  2. Colin permalink

    Having been brought up with choral oratorios in my ears and in the past sung many – this one many times – I must point out that it does not end with this wonderful chorus. That comes at the end of Part 2, often called the Easter Section. The finale of the work is the majestic chorus “Worthy is the Lamb…Amen”. Inspired by Revelation it is deep in its eschatological promise.

    • Yes, I know strictly liturgically speaking, but I was pressing both aspects of Advent, from Advent to Advent, and the Second Coming of Christ! Sadly, the Birth of Christ is often sort of looked at almost by itself, but we must also preach Christ in His great theological truth, and St. Paul for example always begins with the present moment and looking back through the Resurrection to the Cross, and not a dead or even just an historic Christ. Paul’s crucified Christ is the living Christ, still bearing the marks of the cross, as again the present Greek tense suggests. For the biblical Christian eschatology must always be past-present-and future!

      *And we must NOT separate Scripture from Tradition and even History!

      • And btw, liturgy is itself always a handmaiden to God’s Revelation & Word, which is, can we say itself, The Divine Liturgy! 🙂

      • And again, this is the great reality of God’s dispensational and His truth of the Economy of God In Christ, which we see in Paul’s third chapter of Ephesians, Paul’s own “stewardship” – of God’s grace that was given to me for you’.. verse 2-11, etc.

        *Colin: I hope you are running with my thoughts and biblical theology here? 🙂 I am a moderate dispensationalist, but one none-the-less, though surely drawn to the PD or Progressive Dispnsationalism therein!

  3. Colin permalink

    Indeed I do. And the line my vicar emphasises at Advent is the anticipation of the 2nd coming, WE prepare to celebrate the 1st coming but that as a foretaste and promise of the 2nd. I have in my own preaching stressed how in God’s Revelation past present and future roll into each other. Some prophecy has a near and a distant meaning. etc.

    Time these days does not allow me to indulge my love of choral singing. My late mother was a longtime member and for some years librarian for the Harrow Choral Society I joined when I left school and indeed where I met Cathy, my wife since 1977. We later joined the Watford Philharmonic Society which was nearer where we set up home. I had started though at school as a treble (just) in 1967 with Bach’s majestic B Minor Mass. I first sang Handel’s Messiah at school in 1970. Since then many times, including church contexts, and at the Royal Albert Hall. So I can almost sing the tenor line from memory! When I last sang it I admit I only just managed to hit the top A in the tenor line in the great Hallelujah chorus. A little out of practice.

    • Colin: Great story and memory! I too sing a bit, but just with my Martin guitar (acoustic). I also have an old Fender Jazz Bass.

      Yes, we are both on the same track biblically! Surely humanity is on its last run before the great Eschatological End, yes it could still be several even many years, but I myself just don’t see humanity surviving the 21st century? (Myself I might have 10 to 15 years left?) But God alone knows, but let us who believe the Word of God and see National Israel in its Land, and now more than ever enemies surrounding her, and believe Jesus/Yeshua is Coming back to Israel and Jerusalem.. the Holy Land, Zech. 14: 4, etc. Come Lord Jesus!

      I hope you and all yours have a Blessed and Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

